The Hills Are Alive…

With the sound of music….ah, ah, ah, ah.Upholstery  ShortsSo I made some shorts for me…out of some upholstery fabric that was in my stash.  And Josh says, those remind me of The Sound of Music.  Upholstery Shorts for MeOh well…I like them!  I was inspired by Carolyn over at Fake It While You Make It.  She had some upholstery fabric that she turned into some shorts and I thought they turned out super cute (especially where she chose to place the birds).  So I looked through my stash with totally different eyes, seeing my upholstery weight fabric in a different light.  Upholstery ShortsI’m sure I bought this fabric with a specific project in mind, maybe it was a pillow, but it never happened, and so now I have a new pair of shorts.  The pattern is the same as last time, Butterick 4831, with a few modifications.  I added some pockets and changed the waistband from a straight cut to a curved waistband.  Upholstery Shorts With DogWhen I make these next time, I will add a little more width in the hips so the fabric doesn’t pull at all and lengthen the back a bit so that these sit a little bit higher above my tooshie.  Other than those little tweaks, I think I have a favorite shorts pattern.  And I have no fear of a zip fly…woo hoo!!!

This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing for Women. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Hills Are Alive…

  1. The Sound of Music is a cool movie! So are the shorts 🙂 Love them 🙂

  2. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Jenya! The Sound of Music is one of my all time favorite movies.

  3. Renee says:

    cute shorts, and now I have that song stuck in my head lol

  4. dandeliondrift says:

    Haha…sorry. Although, I could sing any of the songs from that movie all day long. They put me in a good mood!

  5. Jacinta says:

    Using upholstery fabric makes the shorts more long lasting, and they look like they fit great. 🙂

  6. Georgia says:

    Fab fit !

  7. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Georgia!

  8. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Jacinta…I had never thought of using upholstery fabric, but the material feels so similar to jeans, I think you are right. These will be very durable 🙂

  9. I love these shorts! I think upholstery fabric is a great weight for bottoms. They look like you bought them from J. Crew. 🙂

  10. dandeliondrift says:

    Wow…J Crew….thanks!!! What a compliment 🙂

Leave a Reply

