Black Knit Dress

I am very blessed with an amazing thrift store near my house.  I know when I go in there, I have to be prepared to walk away with nothing (just like any thrift store), but usually there is some hidden treasure I can find.April Rhodes Date Night DressRecently, my crafty finds have been amazing.  The vintage patterns are all 25 cents a piece and the most expensive fabric is $1 a yard.  And recently, the fabric has been 25 cents per cut.  Per cut…as in I can walk away with 4 yards of fabric for 25 cents.  Insane…I know.  If ever we move, I’ll be heartbroken to leave this great thrift store behind.  April Rhodes Date Night DressWell, the other day I scored this black knit with an eyelet like pattern throughout.  I wasn’t sure if it looked old and frumpy or pretty darn cool.  I decided to make a Date Night Dress out of it, and I have to say, I think it looks awesome.  This is probably my most worn me made item…either this or my Archer tankApril Rhodes Date Night DressI love the easiness of this dress.  It is super comfy, super simple, and (I think) looks pulled together.  (Have I said I like this dress yet?)April Rhodes Date Night DressSo, do you have a favorite thing you have made for yourself?  I may need to try out your pattern, because I could see me making five more of these dresses from April’s pattern (not that that would be a bad thing).

This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing for Women. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Black Knit Dress

  1. Wowsa! This is super chic! If it was for sale in a store I would buy it in every colour possible! Great job! This is probably my favourite make, at least it’s the one I almost wear every week:
    http://thisblogisnotforyou.com/trust-me-johnny-im-the-superman-burda-22013-114/

  2. dandeliondrift says:

    Aww…thanks. And I love your waterfall dres…I’ll have to look into making it!

  3. Rachel says:

    Great dress. I have thrift store envy- mine are not good for patterns and fabric, I have to hope for a repuropose it score!

  4. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Rachel! I was floored when I discovered how great our craft section was!

  5. Jacinta says:

    Oh the dress is lovely on you! Great pattern.
    And I’m with you, I’d be devastated if I had to move away from my awesome op shop (thrift) cause I get a ton of good fabric for cheap.

  6. dandeliondrift says:

    Oh I’m so glad to hear other people have great thrift stores! It is so much fun to ind a good deal there!

  7. Cheryl says:

    I´m a sucker for thrift stores, I still go to my fave one ven if it takes two bus rides. What a lovely dress, perfect too with the boots. 🙂

  8. dandeliondrift says:

    I’m with you Cheryl…thrift stores are my favorite shopping spot. I think it’s the thrill of the hunt!

  9. leelee says:

    Black eyelet fabric is among the best. Also, I really want to find that thrift store.

  10. dandeliondrift says:

    Come visit….it is quite a blessing to my little family!

  11. Tiffany Ima says:

    That dress is such a great shape! love it 🙂

    Tiffany Ima
    Style Honestly

  12. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Tiffany! It is definitely one of my favorite dresses!

  13. I love your dress! I can’t believe you got that fabric for so cheap! I wish I had a thrift store like that near me!

  14. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Heather! I think everyone needs a good thrift store near them!

  15. Sanae says:

    Oh, I love this dress! I can’t believe the fabric price!!! Boggles the mind. You look fabulous and very put together. 🙂

  16. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks…I’m a little worried my thrift store luck is going to run out soon!

Leave a Reply

