April Rhodes The Date Night Dress

This week the kiddos have been off at Camp Grandma’s.  It’s a tradition my mother in law started five years ago; Sweet Pea and Bubba are invited every summer to spend a week at Grandma’s, no parents allowed.  The first few days this week, I was kind of floundering while Josh was at work, lost without a schedule and a super quiet house.  Then I decided to make myself a to do list, and man I have accomplished a lot.  April Rhodes Date Night Dress

The sewing machine and I have spent many hours together this week, daylight hours, which is unheard of here!  One thing on my to do list was to test out April Rhodes’ newest pattern, The Date Night Dress.  The pattern is still in the making, and is due to release this month.  April Rhodes Date Night DressOh, what a great pattern this is.  April’s directions are incredibly thorough, kind of like she is standing by your side guiding you through each step.  She explains how to make a box pleat, french seams, hem a curved edge, and every step has a picture to accompany the written instructions.  The Date Night Dress April RhodesAnd the dress, isn’t it cute!  It has a slight high low hemline and very feminine fluttering sleeves.  The dress has a low opening on the side, so a slip is required, and April has given instructions and a pattern to make that as well.  I have already made two slips, and I love them just as much as the dress.  April Rhodes Date Night DressI think it’s very appropriate that I’ve had a chance to sew up this Date Night Dress, when Josh and I have had many dates this week while the kids are off at Camp Grandma’s!  We have one more night out planned before we are off to pick up the kiddos!April Rhodes Date Night Dress

This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing for Women. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to April Rhodes The Date Night Dress

  1. Megan says:

    I love this dress! You look gorgeous 🙂 And the background is so whimsical. Hope you have a great weekend.

  2. dandeliondrift says:

    Awe…thanks Megan. We have a little train depot in our small town and I thought it would be a great place for a photo shoot!

  3. Kim says:

    Your dress looks great! I really like the curved hem, very cute!

  4. Ginger says:

    Cute! I so admire real seamstresses! I’m a total faker.

  5. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Ginger and Kim…you guys are awesome!

  6. Renee says:

    Great pictures! love the back view, the hem is cute.

  7. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Renee…I love all the details April put into this pattern!

  8. Rachel says:

    Cute sleeves!

  9. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Jenya and Rachel!

  10. Kelly says:

    It looks really pretty! And the pictures are great too 🙂

  11. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Kelly! It’s been fun to work on the photography!

  12. Pingback: Floral Cuff Shorts |

  13. Nellie says:

    What a great dress! So casual and fun, the kind that I like. Great job!

  14. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Nellie! I have already made a second dress…I love this pattern!

Leave a Reply

