Orange Gingham Archer

Back when I started this blog, one of the first projects I planned to post about was an ArcherJen had just released her button up shirt pattern and I quickly bought it!  She announced she was going to have a sew along, so I waited a day or two for the sew along and then started on my first Archer.  I was a bit impatient, and quickly sewed up my Archer, without waiting for all of the sew along steps.  Saying that I needed the extra advice would be an understatement.  The front button placket was sewn on incorrectly, the collar was wonky, the fit was not great.  It ended up going in the trash after a couple wears.  Orange Gingham Archer
So this time when I started another Archer, I slowly worked through it, making sure I paid attention to tiny little details.  And this time I feel like I got it spot on!  I did french seams on the inside, matched my pattern at every seam, and in general, just took my time and avoided the urge to rush through this project!  I LOVE how this one turned out.  Orange Gingham Button Up
It was not the easiest sew.  This is a slippery chiffon material, making everything a bit of a nightmare.  It was difficult to cut out, difficult to iron, difficult to match seams.  I wish I could say I only added one pocket because I like that better as a design, but truly, I was just tired of working with this material when it came time to iron and sew on the second pocket.    Orange Gingham Button Down Gingham Archer Button Up Orange Gingham Shirt Orange Gingham Tank Gingham ArcherI think I could learn a few life lessons from sewing this shirt!  I need to remind myself to slow down….take your time!

This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing for Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Orange Gingham Archer

  1. gingermakes says:

    Really cute! This looks awesome sleeveless!

  2. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Ginger! It is going to get lots of wear this summer…it is so hot here!

  3. Carly says:

    So impressed. It looks amazing. 🙂 Great job!

  4. Jacinta says:

    Oh I really like the Archer better sleeveless like yours! Nice pattern matching 🙂

  5. dandeliondrift says:

    Thank you! It took a little extra time, but I think it was worth it!

  6. dandeliondrift says:

    Carly – thanks! I have really been enjoying sewing for myself lately!

  7. Megan says:

    Your hard work and persistence paid off because this shirt looks darling!

  8. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Megan!

  9. Alida Lee says:

    Love this! I think I need one. Thank you for the comment on Alida Makes! I’m now following you on Bloglovin, I hope you’ll follow me too 🙂

  10. dandeliondrift says:

    Oh thank you! I already am following you…I love your stuff!

  11. Inge says:

    Great job, it looks great!

  12. dandeliondrift says:

    Thank you so much!

  13. Corinnea says:

    It’s gorgeous! Perfect.

  14. dandeliondrift says:

    Thank you! I’ve worn it twice this week already!

  15. Sanae says:

    Oh, I love this shirt! So summery and easy, and still very stylish! The photos are gorgeous too!

  16. dandeliondrift says:

    Thank you…my husband has been awesome helping me with the photos. He’s a good man!

  17. Cindy says:

    The Archer looks great sleeveless! Love the fabric you chose..perfect for summer!

  18. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Cindy!

  19. Lala says:

    cute sleeveless shirt! looks great on you 🙂

  20. dandeliondrift says:

    Thank you!

  21. Pingback: Black Knit Dress |

Leave a comment