Bubble Pocket Top and Spin Skirt

The other day I had mentioned on Facebook that I was hoping I could be a pattern tester for Heidi (the talented lady behind Elegance and Elephants) and her newest pattern coming out.  And timing just worked out that I was able to…woo hoo!Bubble Pocket Top

If you haven’t seen her newest pattern, it is this super cute bubble pocket top and twirl skirt!  This was my first time sewing up one of her patterns, and her directions are great!  There are lots of pictures and everything is explained so clearly.  She has been wonderful to work with.  And the pattern is due to release….tomorrow!Bubble Pocket Top 2

The bubble pocket top was sewn out of this great gray linen I had in my stash.  I love the clean simple lines of this top!  Bubble Pocket Top 3And the spin skirt was sewn from some fabric that a good friend gave to me.  Doesn’t it remind you of watercolor paints?  It looks like someone dripped a few colors here and a few colors there.  Twirl SkirtI love the waistband of this skirt.  As I was sewing it up, I looked down at the store bought skirt I was wearing, and the waistband was constructed the exact same way!  Now I know how they did that…and I want every single one of my waistbands from here on out to be the same way!Twirl Skirt 2If you ask Sweet Pea what her favorite part of the outfit was, it would be the spin skirt.  I even caught her doing a little happy dance!Shake-It

This entry was posted in Kids, Sewing, Sewing for Girls. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bubble Pocket Top and Spin Skirt

  1. I love your choice of fabric. That gray linen is beautiful (linen is really something I should have on hand) because I love how it looks but I haven’t liked what I have seen in the stores. Where is your favorite place to get it?
    I love your daughters sweet reaction to the skirt. I am trying to think how I can make half a dozen more.

  2. dandeliondrift says:

    This linen is from JoAnns, but it’s not the softest linen. I was glad the shirt was fully lined.
    Pattern testing was so much fun….don’t you think? I had never done it before, but I would love to again. I felt like I was working on a secret (super important) mission!

  3. Julie says:

    I can’t agree more with that linen! I never grab any but it looks amazing! (especially on this top…maybe I’ll have to run out and grab some next time). And that skirt does resemble watercolours, love it 🙂

  4. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Julie! I need to find a good spot to buy linen!

  5. Nichole says:

    That is the best combo! The linen really does look great, and that skirt material is gorgeous!

  6. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Nichole. The colors remind me a lot of your daughter’s bubble pocket top and skirt! I have loved looking at everyone’s fabric choices!

  7. Lala says:

    Love her happy dance 🙂 I bought the pattern after I read your post. My daughter would love that cute spin skirt. Thanks!

  8. dandeliondrift says:

    Yay Lala…your daughter is going to love this outfit!

  9. I’m linen shopping right now:) what a sweet outfit!

  10. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Amy! Linen is such a great, comfy fabric!

Leave a Reply

