Striped Pocket T Shirt

The other day I went to Hobby Lobby and found this super soft gray knit in the remnant bin.  I snatched it up with plans to make a t shirt.  stiped pocket t shirt

When I got home, I unrolled the fabric, only to find it was a little small.  There was no way I could make a t shirt out of this cut of fabric (unless it was for one of Sweet Pea’s dolls).  I couldn’t get my mind off of the gray t shirt I wanted, so I started to think about piecing together a shirt.  stiped pocket t shirt back

I used that small piece of gray knit to piece together the front of the t shirt and then found some blue and white striped knit in my stash to piece together the back!  stiped pocket t shirt hem line

I love how it turned out.  Sometimes accidents bring out the best finished product.  With the little bit of striped fabric left over, I cut out a tiny pocket to sew to the front!  stiped pocket t shirt close upWhen Josh was taking these photos, the wind was incredible!  He loved how my bangs would stand straight up…I just had to include a pic of my great hair day!stiped pocket t shirt wind blownstiped pocket t shirt funny

This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing for Women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Striped Pocket T Shirt

  1. When there is a will, there’s a way 🙂 Well done 🙂

  2. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Jenya! I love happy accidents 🙂

  3. 7cakes says:

    That looks so comfy and cute! So did you make your own pattern?

  4. dandeliondrift says:

    I did…I cut up an old comfy t shirt and used it for my pattern. This is the second t I have made from that cut up shirt.

  5. 7cakes says:

    Cool! I’m planning on doing that for a lace t-shirt =D

  6. Cindy Sims says:

    Love how shirt turned out. too clever & cute

  7. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Cindy!

  8. Courtney says:

    Happy accident for sure! I love the fit and look of your shirt!

  9. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Courtney! Happy accidents are the best kind!

  10. Totally awesome shirt! You couldn’t have “planned” it better 🙂

  11. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Heidi! Maybe this is a sign I shouldn’t try and plan everything! I’m usually such a planner!

  12. beth c says:

    Love it–it totally reminds me of a shirt I just made! I used the scoop top pattern from skirt as top.. http://www.bethbeingcrafty.blogspot.com/2013/06/anthro-inspired-stripefloral-tee.html

  13. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Beth…I’m off to check it out!

Leave a Reply

