Summer Date Night

Have you guys heard of Project Sewn?  My goal is to sew along with this competition and this week’s challenge is to sew a sundress.  Perfect.  I love sundresses!

patternThis dress started with a vintage pattern and a couple yards of fabric I picked up from the thrift store.

SummerDateNightThe total for all of my supplies was $3.  I had a plan in my head how I would sew this up.

SummerDateNight2I planned to change the straps and alter the neckline.

SummerDateNight3I wanted a knee length dress with a blue top and green bottom.

SummerDateNight4And possibly some rick rack trim.

SummerDateNight6SummerDateNight9

And then my husband, Josh, looked at the pattern and looked a the fabric and said “Why don’t you sew the pattern the way it is, without any trim.  Less is more.”

SummerDateNight7When it comes to sewing, I don’t usually listen to Josh’s advice.  But I am so glad he gave me his input!

SummerDateNight8I did exactly as he said and I LOVE how this dress turned out.  And I think it would be a perfect summer date night dress!

Linking up with Project Sewn and The Pleated Poppy.

This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing for Women. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Summer Date Night

  1. veamason says:

    Less is more! Love this! Wish I could sew. Found you via the Pleated Poppy.

    Come link up with me at Watcha Wearing Wednesday- http://www.themummychronicles.com

  2. Julia says:

    This is such a fun summer dress! Perfect color!

    Julia
    Glitterandjuls.com

  3. Melinda says:

    Sometimes hubbies are right! Rocking the dress! Great job!

  4. crafty beth says:

    The gathering is so pretty and flattering, and I love the color. Nice bargain score!

  5. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks…Josh was right this time but dont tell him!

  6. dandeliondrift says:

    Lets keep that a secret. Actually Josh is usually right!

  7. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks! i love a good bargain find!

  8. Love this look – your hair looks great!

    Dhruvi
    Stilettos & Sequins

  9. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks- that’s my go to hair do when I don’t want to blow dry my hair.

  10. Cheryl says:

    You look so lovely in that dark blue dress! I wish I can wear backless dresses right now but the weather in here is bipolar. 😦

  11. I absolutely love how this turned out and I think you got great advice….the dress is PERFECT the way it is….and the modern blue is awesome….seriously!

  12. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Cheryl! It is really hot here. I think our hot summer weather is here already.

  13. dandeliondrift says:

    I should probably listen to Josh more often!

  14. Love the dress and the belt is the perfect accessory.

  15. dandeliondrift says:

    thanks Jennifer!

  16. Major Moma says:

    You look lovely in this dress. Great job.

  17. Olga Becker says:

    You look great in this dress! Love the color!

  18. Nellie says:

    I love it! Looks great on you!

  19. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks! I am really flattered by all of the sweet responses.

  20. Laura says:

    Gorgeous dress!

  21. dandeliondrift says:

    Thanks Laura!

Leave a Reply

